Sunny Zolder Hosts Round 3

Sunny Zolder Hosts Round 3

A very hot and sunny Zolder race circuit in Belgium hosted the third round of the BRSCC Porsche Championship. Sixteen drivers ventured into Europe for our 2014 overseas round to visit a circuit that famously hosted Formula 1 races in the 1980s.

Championship leader Jonathan Greensmith stayed at home giving the advantage to front runners Ed Hayes and Richard Avery, but it was Gerry Taylor - guesting for this round - who set the pace in qualifying, taking pole from Ed Hayes and with Adam Croft a strong third. Jayson Flegg took pole for the Production Boxster Class, whilst Simon Hawksley led the 924s.

The temperature rose to 32C in the afternoon for the start of the first race. The sun got to Nick Hull as he stalled on the grid, holding up Graham Heard. Taylor romped into the lead with Ed Hayes holding station in 2nd place. Adam Croft suffered brake failure and went straight on at one of the many chicanes damaging the front of his Boxster. This elevated Richard Avery to third. The Boxster A Class thus finished Taylor, Hayes and Avery in 1st, 2nd and 3rd respectively. Jayson Flegg won the Production Boxster class with Phillip Walters - starting from the back of the grid - securing a first and impressive win in the 924 class.

Sunday Morning started rainy but the sun came out and quickly dried out the track. Drama continued in the Class A Boxsters, with Croft and Heard having a coming together at the first bend. Croft got stuck in the gravel and Heard broke his gearstick, resulting in him driving in 3rd gear for the remainder of the race. Gerry Taylor bounced over a high chicane, breaking his exhaust and causing instant retirement.

Ed Hayes now led the race but after a few more laps his engine cried enough causing his retirement. This elevated Richard Avery to take the lead, which he retained to the finish to take his first win. Garry Lawrence followed him to take 2nd place, with Nick Hull in 3nd. Flegg again dominated the Production Boxster class to take a deserved win after a close battle with Phil Grayson. Simon Hawksley won the 924 class.

The final race on Sunday was relatively drama free. Gerry Taylor took the lead after starting from the back of the reverse grid with Richard Avery following close. Adam Croft suffered brake failure again and beached the car in the gravel. Taylor finished 1st, with Avery in second and Ed Hayes in third. Flegg scored a hat trick of wins with another Production Boxster class victory and Alastair Kirkham won the 924 class, after a frustrating weekend sorting out electrical problems.

Everyone agreed that Zolder is a fantastic venue and a great weekend was had by all. Newcomer to the series Richard Avery takes the Championship lead in the Class A Boxster class, with Jayson Flegg overall leader in the Production Boxster class. Alastair Kirkham leads the 924 Class.

See you all at Rockingham on the 12th / 13th July!

Text and photos kindly supplied by Brian Goff, MD of PDA partner Jasmine Porschalink.

Next race

Croft Circuit - 6th / 7th July 2019


Toyo Tires
BHA Marketing
Tyres South Shore Limited
Rock Oil Carbon
Hartech Independent Porsche Specialist