Snetterton - 23rd / 24th October 2010

Thrilling Championship Showdown at Snetterton!

The season ended on a real high at Snetterton in Norfolk on 23rd / 24th October. As always, the racing was close and entertaining! The individual Class champions may have been decided at Brands Hatch, but there was still plenty to race for at Snetterton.

Dave Clark (Boxster Champion) and Andrew Hannington (924 Champion) and were within a couple of points of each other for the overall Championship spoils. With early 924 leader Alistair Kirkham absent, Steve Brown and Adam Croft were in a battle for 2nd in Class in the 924’s. Similarly, Richard Sykes and Gerry Taylor were determined to get Dave Clark off the top step of the Boxster podium for once! Nick Hull and Dave Hughes, the longest serving Boxster drivers in the Championship also had their season long battle to resolve, whilst Paul Bravo in his 924 was determined to beat Richard Jones (2010 Tae-Quando World Champion!) on track and claim the Rookie of the Year honour!

The Boxster Class welcomed three new drivers at Snetterton; Richard Styrin graduating from the 924’s, Mike Sellar, and Lee Fitzpatrick (2009 Legends Champion).

The weather was unpredictable, bright sunshine interspersed with torrential downpours. Talk in the pits was of wet or dry setups, prompting one driver in frustration to say ‘that’s it, I’m gonna put my ‘point it at the corner and see what happens setting’ on it!’ and another ‘So, Rainex will actually stop it raining, right?’


The track was drying and the best times were set in the last few laps. A mid-session red flag caused confusion, and Dave Clark (assuming it was all over) returned to the garages. Meanwhile, everybody else returned to the track! So, in the Boxsters Gerry Taylor was in pole position, with ex 924 driver Richard Styrin lining up 2nd, and ex Legends driver Lee Fitzpatrick in 3rd. Dave Clark lined up an un-characteristic 4th. The 924 class was headed up by Steve Brown, a super confident Jayson Flegg in 2nd and Andrew Hannington 3rd.

Race 1

Similar to qualifying, the first race took place on a drying track. With a definite dry line emerging by mid-session, overtaking was all the more challenging!

Dave Clark did it again in the Boxster Class and took the victory! This demoted pole sitter Gerry Taylor to 2nd, Richard Sykes made his way from 5th to 3rd, whilst Richard Styrin in his first ever Boxster race scored an impressive 4th.

Meanwhile in the 924’s Jayson Flegg had a stellar start beating Steve Brown to the first corner and leading for the whole race, proving that if his car can keep its engine bits inside the block, he’s more than capable of leading a race! Andrew Hannington took a blow to his overall championship hopes finishing 3rd, with a very quick Alfred Piesinger in 4th. Adam Croft battling for 2nd place in the 924 Championship had a disappointing race finishing 5th in Class.

Race 2

Just to make it really exciting for the last race of the 2010 season, it started dry and then rained at the end!

Dave Clark won the race (his 13th win of the season!) securing the overall Championship. Lee Fitzpatrick was an impressive 2nd and it was 3rd for Richard Sykes.

In the 924 class, Andrew Hannington got the jump off the start into the first corner first with one of his trademark flying starts, and never relinquished the lead. Alfred Piesinger rounded off the impressive end to his season finishing in 2nd place and Steve Brown 3rd. Jayson Flegg, again well on the pace, would have been on the podium but was given a drive through penalty for having all four wheels off the track too many times at Sear Corner and finished 5th in class, behind Adam Croft in 4th.

So, how did it all pan out.....?

Dave Clark secured the overall Championship win and the Boxster Class Championship. Andrew Hannington finished 2nd overall and with the 924 Class championship. Steve Brown wound up 2nd in the 924 class by just 8 points, and 3rd overall. Adam Croft filled the remaining podium spot in 3rd in 924 Class.

Dave Hughes won out over Nick Hull for 3rd in the Boxster Class, but there’s a feeling that particular battle will go to best of three!!

Paul Bravo was forced to concede in his rookie battle with Richard Jones after his engine expired in qualifying and he was unable to race, giving Richard top scoring rookie honours.

And so, the inaugural year of the BRSCC Porsche Championship comes to an end. Congratulations to all the drivers, car preparers, family and friends for providing such a fantastic year of close, exciting racing right through the field.

Roll on 2011....!

Next race

Donington Park - 20th / 21st October 2018


Tyres South Shore Limited
Ryan Insurance
Jasmine Porschalink UK
Rock Oil Carbon
Custom Cages
GAZ Shocks
Wharfside Electrical
Hartech Independent Porsche Specialist